June in 12 Photos

June has been a month of many joyful moments with family and friends in Los Angeles and Toronto. We enjoyed all the wonderful things that come with summer: Warm weather, outdoor picnics, walks in beautiful gardens and parks, beach time, art and music festivals, and more. Here’s June in 12 photos.

Week 1: June started with two fun meet-ups. The first one was breakfast at a local café with my sister while we caught up on family news. The second one was a lovely garden walk then tea with a good friend. We enjoyed scent of wild roses in the air, birds singing and many beautiful flowers in bloom.

Stop and smell the roses.

Week 2: I took a trip to Los Angeles to visit family and meet up with longtime friends. While in Los Angeles, I enjoyed great company, great conversations, fun outings, laughter and delicious meals.

We strolled on Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills and enjoyed the new outdoor Follow Your Heart art installation by Mr Brainwash. The vibrant and multi-coloured heart sculptures emphasize the universal similarity that unites us.

Follow Your Heart art on Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills

We also took walks on different beaches and trails. The weather was mild with typical “June gloom” in southern California (overcast skies in the morning and partly sunny skies in the afternoon).

Laguna Beach
Corona del Mar
Dana Point Marina
Southern California coastline

Week 3: I returned home to hot and humid weather; daytime high temperatures reached 32C, felt like 42C (or 108F) with humidity. I did my outdoor activities earlier in the morning when it was cooler.

Toronto is packed with free outdoor concerts and festivals from June until September. I enjoyed going out with my friends to Luminato Festival Toronto that showcased Canadian and international art and artists.

Evanescent by Atelier Sisu, is an immersive piece of ‘art-chitecture’ which appeals to our universal playfulness and childlike wonder. It is about living fully in the moment and not taking life, in all its beauty, for granted.”~ Luminato Festival Toronto 2024

During the week, a friend and I went to the Toronto Islands. We walked from Hanlan’s Point to Ward’s Island with a stop at Gibraltar Point Beach for swimming and a lunch break at the cute Runaway Café. We had a wonderful time.

Gibraltar Point Lighthouse on the Toronto Islands. Constructed in 1808 it is the oldest existing lighthouse on the Great Lakes.
Gibraltar Point Beach
Runaway Café
Toronto skyline seen from Ward’s Island ferry dock

Week 4: I continued my outdoor activities early in the morning, in the Toronto ravines and by the lake to stay cool. There’s always something interesting to discover when I go outside. I also prepared for my adventures in July.

This car is supported by 4 bone china teacups. Each teacup is supporting 387 pounds!” ~ William Ashley’s Honda Indy 2024 display on Bloor Street West. Zoom in to see the teacups under the tires.

I am grateful for a joyful June. How about you? Did June treat you well?

I’d love for you to share your week’s highlights and/ or public art from around the world in the Comments or Weekend Coffee Share link-up #169 below. Happy July!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

Copyright © 2024 natalietheexplorer.home.blog – All rights reserved.

58 thoughts on “June in 12 Photos

  1. Teresa June 28, 2024 / 8:29 am

    What a busy month you had, Natalie. Bur some photos look very quiet. Happy that you had a great month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you Teresa. June has been wonderful. I live in a big city so when I go outside, I look for nature and calm places, not more people:) I also start my day early when it’s nice and quiet. I hope June has been good to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ganga1996 June 28, 2024 / 8:30 am

    Love all the LA pictures. It was hot second half of June. Happy Weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:37 pm

      Thank you. It’s still hot where I am. Have a great weekend.

      Like

  3. Lisa notes... June 28, 2024 / 8:31 am

    Seeing your photos makes me want to take more photos myself (even as I’m trying to clear away having TOO many photos on my phone already). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:39 pm

      I try to delete old photos regularly to make room for new photos on my cell phone.

      Like

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:41 pm

      The link went through. Thank you for your PPAC. Edinburgh looks like a beautiful city. I hope to visit Edinburgh in the near future.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Teresa June 28, 2024 / 8:03 pm

        I am glad to have inspired you to go to Edinburgh at some point. It is a really wonderful city.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzanne@PictureRetirement June 28, 2024 / 9:36 am

    Natalie, a week in California sounds nice, even if it was ‘June gloom.’ I am sure Evanescent has attracted a lot of attention in your city. It is a beautiful piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:47 pm

      Suzanne, I had a wonderful time in SoCal catching up with family and friends. June gloom didn’t bother me much as the temperatures were pleasant for outdoor activities. The Luminato Festival in Toronto usually attracts a lot of visitors. The Evanescent sculpture is on display until end of July. People love it.

      Like

  5. Toonsarah June 28, 2024 / 9:40 am

    Sounds like a great month for you both at home and in California 🙂 I love the Evanescent sculpture!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:50 pm

      Thank you Sarah. I hope June has been good to you. The Evanescent sculpture is beautiful and playful. It makes me think of giant soap bubles.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Anne Fraser @theplatinumline.blog June 28, 2024 / 10:27 am

    It sounds like a fun month but. I hate hot and humid weather

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:56 pm

      I modify my activity schedule to avoid when the temperatures and humidity are high. They are usually short-lived so it’s not too bad.

      Like

  7. Karen June 28, 2024 / 11:00 am

    June has been good for me, my 1st month of retirement. I prefer cloudy days at the beach so it’s not so hot. I always like seeing what’s in bloom around everyone’s place. That’s an interesting true test that the teacups are durable. I’ve been interested in getting a mirrored garden ball but now I’m thinking effervescent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 2:59 pm

      Isn’t retirement the best gig? I found that tea cup suporting the race car display interesting, too. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  8. artisticsharon June 28, 2024 / 11:38 am

    Lovely pictures and it sounds like you had some very nice outings! Makes me want to look up art installations near me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 3:02 pm

      Thank you Sharon. Perhaps you plan a ‘public art discovery’ outing near you and see what you’ll discover.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Maria June 28, 2024 / 12:42 pm

    The runaway cafe looks like a place I’d like to visit! It seems like June was a fantastic month for you Natalie. I wish you the same happiness for the new month to come. Thank you for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:15 pm

      Maria, Thank you for your good wishes. I hope you have a wonderful summer break.

      Like

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:22 pm

      Jo, I hope June has been good to you. I tried and still couldn’t leave a comment on your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      • restlessjo June 29, 2024 / 2:14 am

        Our settings must not be compatible, Natalie, and I don’t know what to change without upsetting everything. Sorry!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Natalie June 29, 2024 / 8:48 pm

          I just click “ like” to let you know I read your blog and like it 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanne June 28, 2024 / 2:30 pm

    Such a fun and busy month! I am loving all the time spent along the water and at the beach as well as all the beautiful art installations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:29 pm

      The weather in the last two weeks of June here has been warm and great for water and beach activities. There are also lots of cultural events happenning in the city. I hope June has been good to you. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  11. Thistles and Kiwis June 28, 2024 / 3:40 pm

    Looks likeca great month! That last picture of the car on the cups made me look twice….
    Hope you have a great July!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:35 pm

      I thought the display of the race car on the teacups was fun and creative. I hope you have a wonderful July.

      Like

  12. Lydia C. Lee June 28, 2024 / 5:27 pm

    Love the hearts and the Runaway cafe. Too cute!! You always get all over the place!! Love to see the results!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:36 pm

      Summer brings on so many fun outdoor events and activities. Now to have time and energy to enjoy them all 🙂

      Like

  13. A Creative Spirit June 28, 2024 / 6:02 pm

    My favourite is

    Evanescent by Atelier Sisu, is an immersive piece of ‘art-chitecture’ which appeals to our universal playfulness and childlike wonder.

    And mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:38 pm

      I’m pleased you like the artwork and my photo. Keep playing and having fun 🙂

      Like

  14. Retirement Reflections June 28, 2024 / 6:24 pm

    Hi, Natalie – What a great month you had in both Southern California and Toronto. Your positive attitude and joy for life continues to shine through in your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 28, 2024 / 7:42 pm

      Welcome back, Donna. Thank you for your kind comment. I hope your Portuguese Camino went well and you have a wonderful July.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. dawnkinster June 28, 2024 / 10:10 pm

    We had crazy hot weather in June. We had fun even though it felt like August.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 29, 2024 / 8:42 pm

      I’m glad you had fun, Dawn. It’s summertime so we make the most of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Jennifer Jones June 28, 2024 / 11:31 pm

    Wonderful photos again Natalie. It’s great that you were able to follow your passion for art while away. June looks like it was very kind to you. I had to look very hard at the car on the teacups. It’s great art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 29, 2024 / 8:44 pm

      Thank you Jennifer for your kind comment. I enjoy public art and sort of look for them wherever I am. I hope you have a wonderful July.

      Like

  17. Debbie June 29, 2024 / 12:20 am

    What a great month for you Natalie, lots of travel and explorations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 29, 2024 / 8:45 pm

      Hi Debbie, It’s summertime here and usually good weather for travel and outdoor activities. Thank you for linking up.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. margaret21 June 29, 2024 / 3:53 am

    What a busy yet hopefully relaxing month you’ve had. Such summery photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 29, 2024 / 8:50 pm

      June has been relaxing and enjoyable. I didn’t do anything that I didn’t like 🙂

      Like

  19. Jackie June 29, 2024 / 8:19 am

    Runaway Cafe sound good, I haven’t been to the Islands in a couple of years, so I will add it to my summer bucket list.

    I remember that Indy display when Williams and Ashley were in the Manulife Centre.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 30, 2024 / 11:24 am

      The Runaway café has outdoor, casual seating. I go to the Toronto islands on weekdays to avoid the ferry crowds.

      Like

  20. trentpmcd June 29, 2024 / 8:44 am

    Sounds like a great month despite the heat (it was hot here as well!) I haven’t been to California since I was a kid. Glad you had a good time.

    I hope you enjoy your weekend and have a wonderful week ahead! Also that you have a great July 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 30, 2024 / 11:27 am

      I go to California for family and friends. LA is so car-dependent that it is not my top choice to travel there as a tourist. Have a great July, Trent.

      Liked by 1 person

      • trentpmcd June 30, 2024 / 1:14 pm

        I don’t think LA would be my top choice, but I do want to go to the “left/west” coast sometime in the not too distant future, perhaps Monterey…

        Liked by 1 person

        • Natalie June 30, 2024 / 4:40 pm

          Yes, the towns or cities along the Pacific Coast are nice. I visited Monterey a long time ago.

          Like

    • Natalie June 30, 2024 / 11:28 am

      It was fun to window shop on Rodeo Drive. Happy July to you, Pam.

      Like

  21. csuhpat1 June 29, 2024 / 8:15 pm

    Someone had a great June. I so love everything but really loved that last pic. So very cool. Thanks for hoping and I hope that weather cools down for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie June 30, 2024 / 11:30 am

      That car and teacup display was cool. I’m glad you liked it. Happy July to you, Patrick.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.